Mighty Blues head to Canberra this October for State Teams

28 August 2019
2018 State Teams Championships

This October the best up and coming swimmers from around the country will flock to Canberra to represent their State or Territory at the Australian State Teams Short Course Age Championships. The State Teams Championships event is notorious for its highly competitive and electric atmosphere - an experience never to be forgotten by those who attend. Swimmers have also used this meet in the past to springboard their careers to gain selection onto the Junior Australian teams, with many going on to represent Australia at the highest levels internationally.

Swimming NSW's 2019 Senior State Age SC Championships, which took place at Sydney Olympic Park Aquatic Centre this past weekend (23-25 August), was the selection event for the 2019 Mighty Blues NSW State Team. There are only 40 spots up for grabs with 10 in each combined age group – 13/14yrs and 15/16yrs girls, 14/15yrs boys and 16/17yrs boys. 4 para swimmers were also selected on to the NSW Team.

Swimmers from across the state showed up hungry - ready to leave it all in the pool and fight for the right to be a Mighty Blues team member.

Swimming NSW Coaching Director Jon Shaw is incredibly impressed with this year's selected team, saying "this will be one of the most balanced teams selected with depth in each Age group. For example to see one age group with 9 priority 1 swimmers was amazing… it really shows the coaches and swimmers have really targeted the qualifying meets to be selected for this Teams event and represent the great state of NSW.

State Teams Championships is truly an amazing meet where the focus is on the team and who wants it the most. I wish the team and the coaches all the best with their preparations over the next 36 days… GO THE MIGHTY BLUES!"

We are proud to announce the 2019 Mighty Blues NSW State Team that will contest this year's national State Teams Championships.

13-14 Yrs Girls

Athlete Club
Jordan Amies Nepean
Abbey Connor Revesby Workers
Tylah Crabtree Trinity Lismore
Kimberley Doyle Warringah Aquatic
Bella Grant Liverpool
Chelsea Jones Wests Illawarra
Isabella Lee Knox Pymble
Collette Lyons Kinross Wolaroi
Emily March  Hunter
Olivia Wunsch Carlile

15-16 Yrs Girls

Athlete Club
Sydney Brown Wests Illawarra
Mela Delmenico University of NSW
Kayla Hardy Ginninderra
Madeleine Hardy Trinity Grammar
Emily Jones Novocastrian
Anna Lee Trinity Grammar
Holly Nelson Abbotsleigh
Hayley Rowlands Revesby Workers
Bianca Walton Auburn
Laura Wilson University of NSW

14-15 Yrs Boys

Athlete Club
Tane Bidois Knox Pymble
Joshua Collett Knox Pymble
Caleb Dryer Trinity Grammar
Cooper Eakin Carlile
Luke Garment AquaBlitz Toongabbie
Justin Lee Knox Pymble
Joshua Reed Novocastrian
Robert Thorpe Carlile
Jason Yeou Trinity Grammar
Daniel McLoughlin Kincumber Pacific Dolphins

16-17 Yrs Boys

Athlete Club
Tyson Bujak-Upton Knox Pymble
Matthew Galea SOPAC
Zac George Warringah Aquatic
Gabriel Gorgas City of Sydney
Joseph Hamson Knox Pymble
Charlie Hawke Hunter
Vanya Kamenjas Auburn
Tomas Kapocius SOPAC
Connor Roberts Tamworth City
Kai van Kool Manly

Para Swimmers

Athlete Club
McKinley Arnison Lismore Workers
Rachael Vella Menai
Goki Saito Carlile
Alexander Tuckfield SLC Aquadot


Head to our State Squads page for more information on the Swimming NSW State Teams selection process and Performance Pathway.

Was this page helpful?yesno

Thanks for your feedback.

Go back to top