SNSW State Recognition Programs

Taree swimmer streamline backstroke

2022-2023 Swimming NSW State Recognition Programs

Swimming NSW is proud to have the most swimming members in the country, comprising swimmers from all age groups and areas across the State. Swimming NSW also appreciates that there are many young swimmers and those based in the regional areas who are performing exceptionally well in the competitive space and are currently not on the State Performance Pathway. To supplement the Performance Pathway Program, the Junior Development Program and Regional Age Program have been established and recognises these swimmers and coaches, providing further development opportunities and motivation for their swimming journey.

Junior Development Program

  • Objective
  • The Junior Development Program is designed to recognise proficient young medley swimmers across NSW and promote the importance of coaching all strokes early in a swimmer’s development. By focusing on medley swimming at this level, NSW will build a solid base of technically sound swimmers as they move through the pathway.

  • Selection Criteria
  • Males 12-13 years and females 11-12 years may qualify for the Junior Development Program. Selection will be based on 200 IM results from the following meets:

    • 2021/22 SNSW Junior Metro Championships (18-19 December 2021)
    • 2022 Country Championships (18-20 February 2022)
  • Activities
  • All swimmers and home coaches selected for the Junior Development Program will be invited to clinics specifically focused on medley swimming. The clinics aim to provide recognition to the swimmers, as well as provide age-group coaches with specialised medley-based coaching skills.

  • Athlete List

Regional Age Program

  • Objective
  • With NSW being a large geographical area, it presents challenges in supporting swimmers and coaches based outside of the Metro area. Swimming NSW (SNSW) has identified that there are many talented swimmers and coaches residing in regional areas. By implementing a Regional Age Program led by the SNSW Regional Coaching Director, support is provided to identified individuals who can challenge and boost the performances of their local squad mates.

  • Selection Criteria
  • Swimmers will be selected based not only on performances but using talent identification processes. Male swimmers aged 14 – 17 years and female swimmers aged 13 – 16 years are eligible for the Regional Age Program. Selection will be made by the SNSW Coaching Director, Regional Coaching Director and ACT Performance Hub Head Coach. A maximum of 15 female and 15 male swimmers will be selected.

  • Activities
  • SNSW aims to have multiple touch points each year with the targeted group of swimmers and coaches. The activities will take place in a NSW Performance Hub to expose the group to a high performance environment, using facilities and resources not unavailable in their home program. The group will be led by the SNSW Regional Coaching Director.

  • Athlete List
  • Athlete Club Coach
    Riley Anthes Wollongong Chris Buchanan
    Lily Barlow Macksville Marlins Renee Pickvance
    Kyla Brown Kinross Wolaroi Brandon Lawrence
    Joely Bruce Dubbo City Swimtech Dennis Valantine
    Lara Clack Hunter Kerry Saunders
    Oscar Croak Coffs Harbour Daniel Bannerman
    Edward Dodds Tumut Max Hargraves/Charlie Dodds
    Khoi Donarski Gosford Stingrays Ross Tait
    Lachlan Elgin GT Aquatics Mitchell Brown
    Alexander Evans Bathurst City Emilie Miller
    Archie Forwood Griffith Peter Della Franca
    Waylon Hayashi Woden Valley Yuriy Vdovychenko
    Madison Jones Wests Illawarra Joel Wilson
    Oliver Linde Mittagong Cameron Reynolds
    Evie Lucas Valley Aquatic Sam Frame
    Maddie Marks Coonamble Robert Andriske
    Isaac Mooney Wagga Wagga Gennadiy Labara
    Ava Rollason  Cruiz Laura Brindley/Shannon Rollason
    Armand Rood Cruiz Laura Brindley
    Lola Russell Hunter Kerry Saunders
    Amelia Simm Tamworth City Nicolas Monet
    Bella Teale  Trinity Lismore Sarah-Jane Weir
    Edwina Waterman Kinross Wolaroi Brandon Lawrence
    Taeya Williams Ginninderra David Allen
    Violet Williams Charlestown Karen Leth

Was this page helpful?yesno

Thanks for your feedback.

Go back to top