Swimming's Youth make a lasting impact on our sport - 2018 Leadership Camp wrap up

27 September 2018
Lane Ropes to Leadership Camp Group Shot at Lake Keepit

From 15-16 September and 22-23 September, 120 swimmers aged 11-15 years took over the Coffs Coast Adventure Centre, Lake Keepit Sport and Rec Centre (Tamworth), Lake Burrendong (Dubbo) and Borambola Sport and Rec Centre.

The Swimming NSW Youth Advisory Panel expanded their 2018 Lane Ropes to Leadership program to include four overnight Youth Leadership Camps in regional locations.

The camps were organised by the Youth Advisory Panel (YAP), which is made up of 15 teenaged Swimming NSW members. The YAP was formed to assist the Board of Swimming NSW with ideas on retaining teenagers in the sport of swimming and to try to combat the wide spread dropout rate we see around 13-14 years of age.

This is only the second year of the Lane Ropes to Leadership project, and the growth rate is impressive. A pilot camp last year attracted 30 swimmers from around NSW, and this year’s four camps involved 120 swimmers from 85 Swimming NSW clubs. Its highly successful formula includes educational sessions and activities during the camp which are planned, designed and presented by the Youth Advisory Panel members themselves (aged 13-19).

Participants took part in sessions designed to expand their knowledge of the various aspects of swimming, outside of the pool! The concept of the camps is to provide swimmers with skills they can take back to their clubs to improve the club environment for their peers and encourage retention of members by making club nights more fun, offering social club activities and helping create a team atmosphere that swimmers want to be part of. It is also to open their eyes to the opportunities swimming can offer beyond PBs and gold medals.

Workshops such as communication skills, event planning, time management, Optus Junior Dolphin coaching, Technical Official practical training, personal development and team building activities were part of every camp.

The feedback was extremely positive from all involved and we look forward to hearing success stories from clubs across the state as a result of the camp.

Keep your eye out for the 2019 Lane Ropes to Leadership camp dates and locations, as well as other projects from the Youth Advisory Panel.

A big thank you to all swimmers who attended the camps, contributed so much and represented their clubs exceptionally.

Swimmer Swimming Club
Amelia Fauchon 360 Scully Park Tamworth SC
Meghan Andren 360 Scully Park Tamworth SC
Marcus Ryan 360 Scully Park Tamworth SC
Charlie Bailey Alligators of Armidale SC
Mitchell England Bathurst City SC
Angus Macfarlane Bathurst City SC
Tyler Johnson Bathurst City SC
Lucy Graham Bay & Basin ASC
Jasmine Greenwood Bay & Basin ASC
Elise Irvine Bay & Basin ASC
Rebecca Hodgson Bellingen SC
Adrian Havron Blacktown City SC
Marty Mcgrath Boorowa SC
Jacob Piper Boorowa SC
Diego De Leon Chiew Camden ASC
Abbey Whicker Campbelltown SC
Gladys Turner City of Sydney Aquatic Club
Lauren Young City of Sydney Aquatic Club
Henry Hughes City of Sydney Aquatic Club
Bethany Crocker Coolamon ASC
Summer Buchegger Coolamon ASC
Clara Thornton Cooma SC
Madeleine Brown Cootamundra SC
Abbey Gammon Cootamundra SC
Finn Ryan Cowra SC
Sarah Buls Crescent Head Pointers SC
Shae-ala Marchment Crescent Head Pointers SC
Joshua McKinnon Dapto SC
SophieMills Dapto SC
Aspen Moore Dubbo City Swimtech SC
Ashley Steele Dubbo City Swimtech SC
Finn Bethell EZYSWIM SC
Jack Hendry EZYSWIM SC
Ben Chesworth Finley ASC
Ellie Mattiske Forbes Fins SC
Isla Worland Forbes Fins SC
Hannah Carmichael Forster Aquatic SC
Kyara McIntyre Glen Innes Redfins SC
Maisie Eastwood Glen Innes Redfins SC
Beth Arandale Glen Innes Redfins SC
Emily Kearney Gloucester Thunderbolts SC
Olivia Kearney Gloucester Thunderbolts SC
Chloe Douglas-Byrne Gosford Stingrays SC
George Mitton Grenfell SC
Niamh Mitton Grenfell SC
Zaine Della Franca Griffith SC
Piper Stewart Griffith SC
Sienna Donadel Griffith SC
Emily Kneppers Hunter Valley Allstars SC
Hunter Romer Inverell SC
Sophie Mijic Inverell SC
Thomas Pell Jets SC
Mirah Larkin Katoomba RSL SC
Casper Larkin Katoomba RSL SC
Max Farrell Kempsey SC
Jacob Curcio Kincumber Pacific Dolphins SC
Mercede Cornelius-Feltus Kinross Wolaroi SC
Tommaso Cornelius-Feltus Kinross Wolaroi SC
Daniel Lawrence Knox Pymble SC
Cassidy Wallace Laurieton SC
Bailey Whitton Laurieton SC
Leah Pickvance Macksville Marlins SC
Kate Payne Macksville Marlins SC
Brody Faulds Macksville Marlins SC
Darcy Welsh Macksville Marlins SC
Matilda MacNamara Maclean Manta Rays SC
Anna Jenkins Maclean Manta Rays SC
Ella Kohl Macquarie Shores SC
Joanne Wright Manildra SC
Lachlan Thompson Manildra SC
Elizabeth Tooley Manildra SC
Martha Smith Manilla SC
Danielle Vesper Mingara Aquatic SC
Macy Willis Mingara Aquatic SC
Gabrielle Elbourne Moree ASC
Alexander Macey Moree ASC
Brooke Wheadon Muswellbrook SC
Lillyan Potts Narooma ASC
Darcy Gleeson Narrabri Stingrays SC
Keleni Treacy NU Swim
Lachlan Brown NU Swim
Lucy Turner Parkes SC
Isabelle Rice Parkes SC
Christopher Syrakis Peakhurst ASC
Nathan Smith Port Macquarie SC
Oliver Howe Port Macquarie SC
Freya Doyle Ravenswood SC
Jenson O'Leary Sawtell SC
Mitchell Hickey Sawtell SC
Caitlyn Jones Singleton ASC
Ayden Balson Springwood SC
Bridgette Street Swimwest SC
Olivia Farish Sydney University SC
Robert Kanaley Sydney University SC
Olivia Dew Taree Torpedoes SC
Bevan Smith Taree Torpedoes SC
Caitlin Montgomery Titans SC
William Carney Trinity Lismore SC
Brendan Piccini Twin Towns SC
Octavia Coleman Wagga Wagga SC
Iesha Mackintosh West Wallsend Indoor SC
Samantha Johnston West Wallsend Indoor SC
Ethan Tough West Wyalong SC
Jai Bischoff West Wyalong SC
Thomas Jordan-Downes West Wyalong SC
Hanna Agnew Wollongong SC
Hannah Pianca Yanco SC
Bronte Anderson Yass ASC
Lucinda Madden Young SC
Thomas McEvoy Young SC

And we must pay tribute to our remarkable Youth Advisory Panel members who planned, attended and delivered presentations at the Leadership Camps. Thank you all for your dedication.

Swimmer Swimming Club
Lachlan Vane-Tempest Abbotsleigh SC
Maddi Robertshaw Aquabliss Swimming Club
Lucy Graham Bay & Basin SC
John Cosgrove Hornsby SC
Rohan Cowley Inverell SC
Jayden Redfern Kincumber Pacific Dolphins SC
Josie Gillham Kinross Wolaroi SC
Walter Boehme Knox Pymble SC
Sophia Vicic Merrylands ASC
Reece Tomkinson Merrylands ASC
Emily Di Donna Moree ASC
Jessica Hardy Parramatta City SC
Georgia Field Ripples St Marys SC
Darcy Andrews The Hills S & LSC
Billy Nicholson Wagga Wagga SC
Regan Smith Wests Illawarra Aquatic SC
Isaak Wilson Wollongong SC
Cassandra van Breugel Woy Woy SC
Emily Dillon Young SC
Josh Madden Young SC

Learn more about the Lane Ropes to Leadership Program and our Youth Advisory Panel here.

Was this page helpful?yesno

Thanks for your feedback.

Go back to top